Ready for Solheim!

Wow it’s amazing how time flies! It has been two years since Ireland and next week we will try to get the Cup back!! I still remember waking up the Monday after we lost the Cup and thinking two years seemed so far away. I’ve been looking forward to playing in the states again. The 2009 Solheim Cup in Chicago was a blast and the fans were off the charts!! I have a feeling they are going to be fired up next week, I can’t wait! 🙂
It has been an interesting year. I started to realize that the travel is wearing on me a little. I decided to cut back. It’s tough because I love to play golf and I love to compete. Getting on an airplane and going all over the world to do it is the hard part.
I got off to a slow start this year. Phoenix was a good week for me to regroup and focus on making money for the Foundation.
I also started focusing that week on what I needed to do to be ready for the Solheim Cup in August. I really started working on my swing again and working on putting better.
As golf goes, I started seeing some of the results of that work in June at the US Open. Finished T4 there, got into a playoff in Canada, and had a great weekend in Toledo for another T5. I think every golfer will tell you winning is the ultimate, but having a chance every week is important.
I didn’t decide to go to the British until the week of Canada. I mostly wanted to go because the Solheim Cup teams were being announced the Sunday of the British. I’m glad I went. My buddy Gerina Piller was picked and it was fun to be there with her to celebrate!
So, next week we will be in Colorado for the 2013 Solheim Cup. This will be my fifth Solheim Cup and I have to say I still enjoy it like I did the first one. It’s a honor to play for your country. It’s a honor to play on these teams. I don’t take it for granted and appreciate each year I get to play for the USA.
The Foundation is doing great! We had our Night with the Stars event in May. The musicians were awesome as usual and we were able to raise money for our scholarship fund. This is our second year to give scholarships and we were able to help seven more students over their next four years.
Now we are gearing up for our golf tournament in September. Let Your Light Shine will take place September 22nd this year. Lots of good things going on!!!
USA all the way!!:)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment